Bet Aviv’s Secretary Blesses Candles During the Board Installation Service

Bet Aviv is governed by a Board of Directors who meet once per month to discuss issues of importance to our synagogue.  The Board consists of the officers who comprise the Executive Committee, and the Committee Chairs and Members-at-Large who form the Board of Directors.  We discuss new directions for Bet Aviv, review our financial health, hear status from Committee Members and respond to various opportunities to do mitzvahs in the community.

Board and Committee Structure

The chart below shows Bet Aviv’s Board and Committee Structure.  The blue boxes show Board Positions and the yellow positions show non-board positions.

20230207 Committee Structure Chart
Executive Committee

Bet Aviv’s officers, except for the immediate past president, are elected for a two-year term and may continue in the same position for one additional two-year term. Click on the Secretary and Treasurer Titles to see the responsibilities for that office. Bet Aviv’s officers are:


Co-President Lou Ebert
Co-President Art Brody
Vice President Bill Salganik
Vice President Darla Strouse
Secretary Gayle Miller
Treasurer Jim Shiffrin
Immediate Past President Azi Siner


The Executive Committee meets monthly to discuss operational issues and recommends options for complex issues facing the board.

Trustees/Committee Chairs

Click on the links to view a list of the responsibilities for that role within Bet Aviv.

Adult Education Jim Strouse
Caring Committee Ellen Rappoport
Caring Committee Joan Selekoff
Communications Linda Feldmesser
Fundraising Darla Strouse
High Holiday Committee Linda & Howie Feldmesser
Jewish Community Relations Kelli Rives
Membership Recruitment Nina Richman-Loo
Membership Engagement Hal Kassoff
Member at Large Barbara Hurwitz
Member at Large Morris Levine
Men’s Club Alan Berlin
Men’s Club Bob Hurwitz
OMI Representative Darla Strouse
OMI Representative Hal Kassoff
Ritual/Worship Faye Levine
Women of Bet Aviv Sheila Schneider
Women of Bet Aviv Hattie Katkow
Women of Bet Aviv Sue Portney
Social Action Terri Clayman
Social Action Barbara Fasteau